Steve Smith and the desperation to win

Smith has lot of explaining to do after sandpaper gate
Steven Smith has a lot of explaining to do after Sandpaper Gate

#2 Brain fade

Ad
The DRS saga took center stage between India and Australia
The DRS saga took center stage in the Test series between India and Australia

Steve Smith's team landed in India on the back of some serious drubbings in their previous outings in the sub-continent. The Aussies had been humbled by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in the preceding 4 years.

Ad

However, the team was eager to set the record straight. As it turned out, the series was a closely-fought one. However, it was the brain fade incident involving the Australian skipper that took center stage.

In the second Test of the four-match series, Steve Smith was adjudged LBW, but he was not convinced. Surprisingly, in an attempt to get the coach's view to check whether it was out or not, his Indian counterpart Virat Kohli caught him during the act and the umpires sent Smith on his way.

Ad

In the days to follow, a lot was said about Smith, with Kohli being highly critical of his opposite number. Many ex-cricketers also slammed Smith's act.

Later on. Smith went on to apologize about the whole incident and called it a 'Brain fade' on his part.

Looking for fast live cricket scores? Download CricRocket and get fast score updates, top-notch commentary in-depth match stats & much more! 🚀☄️

Quick Links

Edited by Srikant
Sportskeeda logo
Close menu
WWE
WWE
NBA
NBA
NFL
NFL
MMA
MMA
Tennis
Tennis
NHL
NHL
Golf
Golf
MLB
MLB
Soccer
Soccer
F1
F1
WNBA
WNBA
More
More
bell-icon Manage notifications