EPL 2016/17: Arsenal 2-0 Hull City, 5 Talking Points

Alexis Sanchez scored a brace against a stubborn Hull City defence

#2 Alexis Sanchez’s dubious hand-ball goal

Ad
Sanchez handled the ball in the build-up to the first goal
Ad

Alexis Sanchez scored a memorable goal today, for all the wrong reasons. After a corner came into the box and an ensuing goal-mouth scramble, the Chilean forward scored after the ball clearly struck his hand and went in.

The goal was given by the referee Mark Clattenberg and his linesmen, who did not see the incident, despite replays showing that the ball did in-fact go in off Sanchez’s hand. Although it was a ricochet that the player could do nothing about – isn’t a hand-ball still a foul?

Ad

The deliberate/not deliberate grey area of the refereeing rules were once again called into question, nonetheless. It was very unfortunate for Hull City who were battling for everything in the game until then. It made it 1-0 to Arsenal and Marco Silva’s men faced an uphill struggle from then on.

Hull’s Andy Robertson confirmed that Clattenberg apologised to the Hull manager and players for the poor decision.

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Sportskeeda logo
Close menu
WWE
WWE
NBA
NBA
NFL
NFL
MMA
MMA
Tennis
Tennis
NHL
NHL
Golf
Golf
MLB
MLB
Soccer
Soccer
F1
F1
WNBA
WNBA
More
More
bell-icon Manage notifications